Following the election of the President, MEPs elected 14 Vice-Presidents in two ballots on Wednesday. To be elected, candidates needed to win an absolute majority of valid votes cast. The new Vice-Presidents come from six different political groups.

Vice-Presidents elected in the first round 

Mairead McGuinness (EPP, IE) 466

Bogusław Liberadzki  (S&D, PL) 378

David Sassoli (S&D, IT) 377

Rainer Wieland (EPP, DE) 336

Sylvie Guillaume (S&D, FR) 335

Ryszard Czarnecki (ECR, PL) 328

Ramón Luis Valcarcel Siso (EPP, ES) 323

Evelyne Gebhardt (S&D, DE) 315

Pavel Telička (ALDE, CZ) 313

Ildikó Gall-Pelcz (HU) 310

Voting in the first ballot: 680

Blank or void: 62

Valid votes cast: 618

Absolute majority: 310

Vice-Presidents elected in the second round 

Ioan Mircea Pasçu (S&D, RO) 517

Dimitrios Papadimoulis (GUE/ NGL, EL) 469

Ulrike Lunacek (Greens/EFA, AT) 441

Alexander Graf Lambsdorff (ALDE, DE) 393

Voting in the second ballot: 672

Blank or void: 34

Valid votes cast: 638

Absolute majority: 320


The order of precedence of Vice-Presidents reflects the scores achieved by the 14 best-scoring candidates.

Parliament’s five Quaestors will be elected on Wednesday afternoon, in a vote starting at 16.30. Nominations can be submitted by 16.00.

Watch the election via EP Live

Follow @EuroParlPress for updates


  • Source : europarl.europa.eu
© Jarosław Wałęsa 2015 - 2024. Wszelkie prawa zastrzeżone.
realizacja: Nabucco